Change Text Size
Email Columns Print page
Columns: The Online newspaper for the University of Georgia community
Show Index
April 14, 2014   Columns Articles | Inside UGA | Staff governance organization elects new officers

Staff governance organization elects new officers

Aaron Hale

Senior reporter

Recent and archived articles by Aaron Hale

Columns staff
Media Relations, Division of Marketing & Communications
Work: 706-542-8024
By Aaron Hale | April 14, 2014

New officers were elected for the UGA Staff Council executive committee during its April 2 meeting.

Michael Lewis, an information technology professional in the Franklin College of Arts and Sciences' geology department, was elected chair of Staff Council.

Lewis, who is serving as vice chair of the organization, will succeed Jerry Daniel, who has served as chair since 2010.

Lewis will serve a two-year term as executive committee chair.

"Our No. 1 charge is to advise the president," Lewis said.

Lewis said he is looking forward, as chair, to communicating with President Jere W. Morehead about how things are working on the "functional" level.

"We have the opportunity to influence policy and implementation," Lewis said.

The other elected executive committee officers are Marie Mize, a library associate at the School of Law library, who was elected vice chair; Mary Moore, a research analyst in the Office of Institutional Research, who was re-elected Staff Council coordinator; Debi Chandler, an administrative associate for the Tate Center Food Services, who was re-elected recording secretary.

The newly elected officers will begin their terms July 1.

The next Staff Council meeting, which is open to the public, is May 7 at 2:30 p.m. in Room 207 of the Miller Learning Center.

Columns is produced by the University of Georgia | Division of Marketing & Communications | Feedback