Change Text Size
Email Columns Print page
Columns: The Online newspaper for the University of Georgia community
Show Index
January 9, 2017   Columns Articles | Inside UGA | Nominations being accepted until Jan. 23 for 2017 International…

Nominations being accepted until Jan. 23 for 2017 International Education Awards

January 9, 2017

The Office of International Education invites nominations of outstanding faculty and staff engaged in promoting international education for the International Education Awards. Deadline for receipt of nominations is Jan. 23. Recipients of awards will be honored at the annual OIE awards reception scheduled for late spring 2017.

Richard Reiff Internationalization Award. This award is given in honor of Richard Reiff, former executive director of the Office of International Education at UGA, past president of NAFSA: Association of International Educators, founding executive director of Phi Beta Delta International Honor Society, creator of UGA's study abroad fair and former chair of the international committee of the University System of Georgia.

The Reiff Award honors a tenured or tenure-track faculty member who has made major contributions to the overall internationalization of UGA. These contributions could include, for example, advancing education abroad opportunities for students, enriching the experiences of international students and scholars at UGA, engaging in significant research of international scope, advancing UGA's international partnerships and engagement as well as promoting campus internationalization.

OIE Study Abroad Award. UGA is among the top institutions in the U.S. for the number of students studying abroad each year. This distinction is possible only through the efforts and dedication of UGA faculty and staff.

The OIE Study Abroad Award honors a faculty or staff member who has made major contributions to the study abroad effort at UGA by working directly with a study abroad or exchange program and/or contributing to the infrastructure that advances UGA's overall study abroad effort. Faculty at all ranks, as well as professional staff members (e.g. academic advisors, program coordinators) are eligible.

Open Arms Award. The Open Arms Award is given in honor of Mary Ann Kelly, who played a leadership role in the International Student and Scholars and Immigration Services unit of OIE. Over the years, Kelly worked tirelessly on behalf of international students, scholars and faculty on the UGA campus and opened her home regularly to those who were far from their homes during the holidays and school breaks. Her dedication and hospitality serve to inspire all of us to welcome UGA's international students and scholars with "open arms."

The Open Arms Award honors UGA faculty or staff who have gone above and beyond their formal duties in facilitating the presence of international students and/or scholars at UGA and making their experience at the university productive and positive.

International Diversity Award. The International Diversity Award is given each year to a faculty or staff member who has shown dedication to promoting diversity in its many forms within international populations and activities at UGA. Recipients may be honored for a variety of activities, including recruiting students from underrepresented populations for study abroad; educating international students about U.S. cultural, ethnic, religious or other forms of diversity; increasing the inclusion of students with disabilities in a variety of international activities; bringing attention to international and comparative aspects of courses or co-curricular activities devoted to diversity.

To nominate an individual for one of these awards, download and complete the nomination form at and attach the requested materials.

More from this issue

Columns is produced by the University of Georgia | Division of Marketing & Communications | Feedback