Change Text Size
Email Columns Print page
Columns: The Online newspaper for the University of Georgia community
Show Index
November 13, 2017   Columns Articles | Inside UGA | Disability Resource Center recognizes 28 students,…
Magnify 2017 Disability Resource Center
The Disability Resource Center honored 28 UGA students and one faculty member during its annual recognition reception. Photo by Dorothy Kozlowski

Disability Resource Center recognizes 28 students, 1 faculty member at reception


When Alexa Lee was in high school she was diagnosed with lupus, a serious autoimmune disease in which the body's immune system attacks healthy tissue. After undergoing chemotherapy, she was ready to shed the stigma of being constantly ill and start anew during her freshman year at the University of Georgia.

However, her health problems grew more complicated when she learned that the disease had affected her kidneys, and in her sophomore year she had to undergo a kidney transplant.

The cost for her medical care has taken a toll on her family's finances. However, last month, Lee received a scholarship at the annual Disability Resource Center Student and Faculty Recognition Reception.

Lee was one of three students awarded the Lupuloff Family Scholarship, which is provided by UGA alumna Jan Lupuloff and her husband, Aaron. The other two Lupuloff scholarship recipients are Joseph Guyton and Anastasia Klosterman.

"I cannot thank the Lupuloff family enough for this scholarship," said Lee. "This award has allowed me to continue my studies and relieve some of my family's financial burden. I am extremely thankful to the Lupuloffs for allowing me to continue my educational pursuits."

A total of 28 UGA students registered at the DRC received scholarships Oct. 24 at a reception in Grand Hall of the Tate Student Center.

During the program, each student had the opportunity to thank the scholarship donors and talk about their personal experiences.

The ceremony also honored Deanna Walters, an instructor and practicum coordinator in the College of Public Health's health promotion and behavior department, who received this year's Outstanding Faculty Award.

The DRC assists more than 1,500 UGA students a year, providing them with help navigating campus, extra time on tests, note-takers or anything else students might need to succeed.

"You all truly do make a difference on campus," said Bill McDonald, UGA's dean of students. "Your stories inspire us, but more importantly what you do every day inspires us."

Other scholarship recipients who were recognized included Shreya Visvanathan, the Janis Family Scholarship; Frances Dean, Liam McCabe and Hillary Rowell, the Michael E. Merriman Memorial Scholarship; Akash Shah, the Radcliff Scholarship; Carlie Horn, the Elizabeth and J.C. Faulkner Scholarship; Anna Davidson, Nadia Hopkins and Ada Spratlin, the Gregory Charles Johnson Scholarship; Sean Tackett, the Orkin Family Scholarship; Ansley Spears, the Matthew Peddicord Memorial Scholarship; Charnel Byrnes, the Dale Gibson Memorial Scholarship; Alan McDonald, the John and Frances Mangan Family Scholarship; Chang-Kyu Kwon, the Margaret Ann Towson Scholarship; Taylor Bradish, the Joe Coile Memorial Scholarship; Risa Matsumura, Hannah Ruby and Michael Veal, the Weldon H. Johnson Access Abroad Award; Tyus Williams, the Carey Louis Davis Scholarship; Lavette Leflore, the Hamilton Family Scholarship; Bradley Allen and Jade Maltese, the Choate Family Scholarship; Ashley Stone, the Margaret C. Totty Memorial Scholarship; Matthew Hukin, the Betty and Joe Satterthwaite Memorial Scholarship; and Matthew Lemer, the Lauren Melissa Kelly Scholarship.


Columns is produced by the University of Georgia | Division of Marketing & Communications | Feedback